Home News Police Arrests Fleeing Kidnappers on Abuja-Kaduna Highway

Police Arrests Fleeing Kidnappers on Abuja-Kaduna Highway


The on going operation by the police to tackle kidnapping Gangs on the Kaduna-Abuja highway axis is yielding positive results as 26 suspected kidnappers have been arrested by the Police.

The Inspector General of Police has ordered an expansion of the Operation Area also known as “Area Of Responsibilities of Operation Absolute Sanity” on the Kaduna-Abuja highway.

The Force Public Relations Officer, Mr. Jimoh Moshood, said Kidnappers that escaped arrest on Kaduna-Abuja Highway have stated to relocate to some major roads within Niger State, prompting the police force to expand their operation to Niger State.

He said the operation which was directed by the IGP took effect from 14th August 2017.

“In the operations that are still ongoing, five different vicious and notorious Kidnap for Ransom gangs were dislodged and busted in their hideouts along Suleja –Lambata-Bida and Minna Roads in Niger State.”

“A total of 26 suspected kidnappers were arrested in the operation. They all confessed to the offense and admitted to the various criminal roles they played in the commission of the crime.’’

“Most of the suspects were identified by the victims as being responsible for their kidnap. The investigation is being intensified to arrest the other suspects at large. All the suspects will be arraigned in court on completion of Investigation.’’

“The ongoing raids on criminal hideouts will be sustained,’’ he explained.

The Inspector General of Police said he appreciated the collaboration and efforts of the communities, towns, and villages along Suleja, Lambata, Bida and Minna Road.

Those that were arrested during the operation include Isah Umar, suspected to be the gang leader and others are Abubakr Muhammed, Baje Sari, Sanusi Adamu, Nuhu Yahaya and Sanda Sale.

The others are Isiya Tukur, Abbas Tasus, Shafiu Mohammed, Ali Ali, Okechukwu Atama, Mohamamed Aliyu, Sagiru Dahiru and Abdulahi Bala.

The remaining are Haruna Adamu, Abubakar Aliyu, Haruna Abubakar, Yali Ibrahim, Yusuf Abdullahi, Deneri Buba, Sani Abubakar, Adamu Bello Abubakar Iliyasu, Yayaha Alimadu, Abdullahi Abubakar, and Suleman Mohammed.